Technology

Random Ramblings # 57 – Why the iPhone may or may not be for me

I have been lucky enough to use the iPad over the last few months along with my own BB Curve running BBOS5, my dads Galaxy S2 running ICS and let me start of by saying it is one of the best tech experiences of my life.

Content consumption is king for me on my iPad and with the awesomely amazing display this one boasts its been a dream.

However this prolonged exposure to iOS (iOS6 is what I’m currently rocking) has shown me a few limitations which might just jar my everyday usage if I ever try to consider an iPhone.

Before all the bashing begins, these are just a few of my observations and I haven’t tried all sorts of things to get them to work.Your opinion might differ.

1) The current Maps suck balls. Period. Yes I know a lot has been said about this all over the internet with entire blogs also popping up to chronicle the suckiness of Apple Maps which lead to Tim Cook himself releasing a statement that there were issues and people should consider alternatives for the time being. This is almost a complete deal breaker for me as my road sense is annoyingly bad and while I am trying to remember roads better I still need a good mapping application on many an occasion and this one doesnt float my boat. I am waiting with crossed everything for the Google Maps app.

2) As a heavy google services user I find it a little jarring for my use, (to be honest I haven’t really made a concentrated effort to try and remedy this), but without easy pushmail support for Gmail (not counting the Sparrow app in this) and contact sync its a lil questionable for me. In the same breath Im am 100% certain that with the tiniest bit of googling I will find the solution. im just trying to say it doesn’t “Just Work” like it ideally should.

3) The price, well I think those two words itself sum up my feelings more accurately than anything else I need to say. When dealing with Apple products price means ‘nuf said.
But keeping these in mind Im still leaning more towards getting one than not due to the following:

1) As someone who has owned an iPod before I have had a chance to experience Apple’s legendary customer service first hand and its nothing short of incredible 😀 a definite plus point for when one is considering plonking down a serious chunk of cash for a device. I mean my iPods click wheel started acting wonky and without complaint they took it in just to replace it with a brand new one, within a week and that was amazing for something which was in month 11 of its 12 month warranty. Since that day its brownie points for customer service are firmly lodged in my heart.

2) Confidence that for the next 3 years I’m going to get the latest OS updates on my device as soon as they r launched. This is a huge factor for an ex-Android user who burnt his fingers with samsungs erratic and often hit or miss update schedule and logic. Yes, naysayers might say that certain features aren’t being made available, however they seem to only be the more processor intensive ones and in my opinion should stop from this version onwards.

3) The build quality, I mean do I need to say more? Apple’s products across its range, are over engineered to a fault and it shows and honestly I love it. I mean every single blog can’t stop raving about this till now and its a major factor in the firms feeling of niceness over its products.

4) The App selection, its vast, variety abounds and a lot of the good apps are extremely well designed also. This is kind of like a moot point for the point of view that all the really popular apps already exist or are in the process of existing across all the major ecosystems. However one point which is still valid is that a lot of the apps choose iOS to launch on first and then come to the others and for someone like me this counts.

5) Now this last point is extremely personal and will obviously vary, however with an iPad already in my stable with quite a few paid apps it makes a little more sense to get an iPhone over any thing else right? Well maybe, the cash I would save with another manufacturer as compared to the iPhone would surely make up for repurchase costs, but I’m still on the fence on this one having already experienced the apps on iOS and being pretty happy with them

The debate is still pretty open in my head and I’m gonna give it time till the Lumia 920 and BB10 devices launch, go handson with them all, take a long hard look at my wallet and then decide. Till then expect more of these to hammer out why others may or may not be for me 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

