Average Opinions, Reviews

Average Opinions 1 – Chanakya’s Chant by Ashwin Sanghi

Cover of Chanakya's Chant

Cover of the Book

Finally started my reading habit again and it makes me feel good but that’s a topic for another time.

This one is about my opinion of the book Chanakya‘s Chant by Ashwin Sanghi. Let me get the short version out first: Its above good but not great,shows the great promise of the writer but lets reserve true judgement till I’ve read a few more of his books.

The book is one of my first books which involve intermingling the narratives of the past and the present into one intertwined with a common character throughout but it was quite an enjoyable experience for m, an engaging one which kept my mind occupied through out.

I’m not a purist who worries about every single character in the book but I did notice that Chandragupta‘s character was left a tad under done, I kept expecting him to take a slightly more dominant role in the story but he was left looking more like an obedieant dog who listens only to hismasters words and does exactly as told but I guess that was the point of the entire book to show to the reader how exactly dominant, manipulative and controlling Chanakya actually was but it still left me feeling a little queasy.

With respect to every thing else about the book I loved Chandinis story and the revelation which comes in the form of the letter right at the end provides a very nicely rounded off end to the tale. The action was fast paced without being muddled and all the material handled sensitively.

All in all I give it a *** out of *****

Enhanced by Zemanta
Standard

One thought on “Average Opinions 1 – Chanakya’s Chant by Ashwin Sanghi

  1. Pingback: The Chant of The Kingmaker « Snow Leopard's Blog

Leave a Reply

