Life log

Random Ramblings #30-Exit Strategy

Today I had a very interesting conversation with my new room-mate which got me thinking.

He stated something which was very obvious and out in the open but due to whatever reason I had never decided to think about head on. He said that by entering into the IT industry like we have done, we have essentially let someone else decide our fate for us.

In one fell swoop they took all four years of engineering imbibed into us and threw it out, assigned us a “Technology” to us, told us we could be thrown around like “Resources” on a giant RTS game being played by our corporate overlords, on this giant board game of the living breathing world in a desperate attempt to attract more “Gold” with bigger better contracts. They simultaneously expect us to fit almost 4 years of computer science knowledge in one fell swoop of just 45 to 60 days and enjoy it, whilst they try to smooth out all the battle scars which we have gained through our lives, those which help us differentiate into the varied individuals we are today, so they can fit us into the perfectly chiseled molds of the ideally productive “IT Resource” they have conceptualized.

All this got me into thinking what the hell am I doing here, not to deny that yes anyone who knows me will probably say that with my keen interest of computers and the way they function this IT industry world is perfectly suited for me and I should be glad to have gotten into one of the best that there is and a lot of other platitudes about how good I actually have it having got a job right out of college despite of not being from one of the famed IITs or going abroad or any of that elitist stuff.

While I do agree with most of what they say and yes I am glad for all they say I should be glad for and am relieved to finally be bringing in money for my family rather than just leaching money from my family, wouldn’t those same people agree that the luck of the draw is a slightly unfair way to be assigned the larger part of the rest of your life, I mean just because I took a decision once a long time ago that I wanted to become an engineer and never really questioned for whatever reasons seemed to justify not doing so at that time. Now however the feeling is finally sinking in that this one of the last throw’s of the dice left for me in this journey called life, the wheels of life are slowly going to start spinning faster and faster in deed as more of the cogs fall into place and most of the major ones already have with this being one of the last truly influential ones left.

Introspection into myself when faced with this harsh yet humbling reality I realized that its time for us to have an “Exit Plan” for this life that we have been forced into. Whats that one might ask? well the exit plan is exactly what it sounds like a way to exit this grinding life which for some of us holds no true meaning or purpose no matter how good we might be at it and do something which truly challenges us, in a way that even though we may not possess the natural raw talent to go ahead and be instant celebrities in that field, one where we grow by learning every single day and at the end become good at what we do or at least satisfied with what we have achieved.

For a lot of us this path isn’t going to be the easier one at all, its much easier to just lie back and say that you know what they have already done most of the bloody work for me why not just flow with it and make something out of the cards that have been dealt to us.

Those people in their own way are completely justified in their belief and I wish them the best of luck in that way of living their lives. I however come form a slightly different bend of mind, I believe that you know what mister I’m going to only take the best that I can from this big MNC that I’m working at which is the absolutely crazy amount of professionalism the try to imbibe into us as well as the immense networking options the offer us across the wide range of industries they serve.

My “Exit Plan” isn’t defined yet but this much is clear to me that this isn’t how i wanted my life to be decided and I will not allow it to be so, cause it is my belief that the ones who are truly successful in this world be it businessmen like Bill Gates and Dhirubhai Ambani or literary superstars like J.K. Rowling very few of them automatically got into exactly what they wanted right from the start I mean Dhirubhai was a petrol pump attendant for gods sake but they all had the ambition and balls(most importantly) to actually dare to change the wheels in this machine of life and make them sing according to their own tune and while I don’t aim to reach their level, I do wish to make my Life a more fulfilling one and wish you decide to do the same.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Standard

One thought on “Random Ramblings #30-Exit Strategy

  1. Pingback: 4 Steps to Understanding Your Exit Strategy | Verigent Blog

Leave a Reply

